crying with a raised fist: episode 8 Waiting for the Great Leap Forward

This one is for Matthew L, who helped me see that making my own path was the only path for me!

Aren’t we all waiting for the great leap forward?

Billy Bragg is the master of the ‘crying with a raised fist’ genre. There is so much material that I was spoiled for choice!

But in the end, I just had to go for this one.  It is a song which, in a deceptively goofy manner embraces DIY, is all at once anti-judgement, anti-fashion, a humble assessment of rock success when it may come at the expense of ideals, and it inspires me with the hope I need to try to find my own way forward.

It also contains a message that I think all rich-north liberals need to see when blinded by their idealistic fight, really one of perspective- we are supremely lucky to live in the first world, let’s enjoy its luxuries such as what freedoms are allowed us right now as we fight for better, coz the third world is just around the corner!

I used to think this was the worst video I had ever seen for a song, but now it seems like Billy Bragg was just trying to lampoon expensive videos and the burgeoning bourgeois-ity of his career!

It starts off slow, but by the end, if you turn it up loud, every line is a truth, striking a blow for hope!

Start your own revolution and cut out the middle man!

Enjoy!

(It seems to be refusing to embed, and is a hard video to find, so you will need to click here, sorry!)

~ by maoctopus on February 22, 2011.

2 Responses to “crying with a raised fist: episode 8 Waiting for the Great Leap Forward”

  1. I think it was only my flirtation with dogmatism that may have helped you see. The rest was your doing.

    • At least your flirtation was an ACT though! Acting for a dogma is so much more noble than my own inaction against dogma!! It is so easy as an anarchist to do nothing but talk trash; I respect your history of attempted change!

Leave a Reply

 
